What is DSPL?

Delivering Special Provision Locally is a Hertfordshire-wide initiative, working to improve the range of provision and support services available for children and young people with special educational needs and disabilities, aged 0-25.

It aims to secure a range of provision, support services and resources in each area that:

• meets the needs of children and young people with SEND aged 0-25 as close to home as possible

• improves outcomes for wellbeing and attainment

• widens choice for children and parents/carers

• removes barriers to learning

• uses resources effectively

Dacorum DSPL

Dacorum DSPL (DSPL Area 8) is one of 9 areas in Hertfordshire where parents, early years settings, primary and secondary schools, further education, local authority professionals and other agencies work together to review what is available and develop provision to fill in the gaps.

For more information on the work carried out by Dacorum DSPL8 Click Here

For the list of Dacorum DSPL 8 schools click here

The work is led by the DSPL Board who meet twice a term. The terms of reference for the Board are set by Hertfordshire County Council and can be downloaded below.

Our sub groups work on a number of activities to support DSPL 8 and report into the DSPL Board. Activities relate to key areas of work within Dacorum DSPL 8.

Our sub groups are chaired by a local Headteachers. The groups work through an agreed action plan to improve outcomes for children and young people with SEND. Our current sub groups are:

Autism sub group
Early Years sub group
Mental Health sub group
Primary Behaviour Board
School Family Worker sub group

Our sub groups are supported by HPCi parent representatives.

The current Board membership is:

Chair and Secondary Head Representative

David Fisher – Head Teacher, Kings Langley Secondary School

Secondary Head Representation:

Tim Jordan – Deputy Head Hemel Hempstead School

Primary Head Representation:

Richard Haynes – Headteacher Hobbs Hill Wood Primary School
Katharine Ellwood- Headteacher Greenway Primary and Nursery School
Jackie Hood – Head, Chaulden Infants School, Hemel
Jo Harris – Principal, Bedmond Academy, Hemel

Special School Representation:

Ian Burgess – Assistant Head Woodfield School

Education Support Centre Representation:

Sara Lalis – Headteacher Dacorum ESC

Early Years Representation:

Hayley Yendell – Head, Heath Lane Nursery
Katrina Walsh – Early Years Team Leader Dacorum Family Centre Services

Representation from Post 16 provision:

Gareth Styles – Head of SEND, West Herts College

Integrated Services for Learning (ISL)

Patricia Walker – ISL Area Manager, Professional Lead for SEND Specialist Advice & Support Service

Representation from SEN/EP:

Melanie Flay– EP Team Manager, St Albans and Dacorum

Parent Representation:

Danielle Jata-Hall
Alison McLauchlin
Natalie Long
Kate Hudson

DSPL Team:

Carole Hassell DSPL8 Manager
Ruth Mason – DSPL8 SEND Lead
Ashley Fabray – DSPL8 Support Officer
Richard Haynes – Joint Operational Lead and Headteacher Hobbs Hill Wood Primary School
Katharine Ellwood – Joint Operational Lead and Headteacher Greenway Primary School